Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league consisting of six franchises. The BPL is one of the three professional cricket leagues in Bangladesh. It is the 16th most attended Premier League in the world. Bangladesh Premier League.

YearAll Years

The regular season, the top four teams advance to the playoffs, a single elimination game, and two qualifier games between the winner of Qualifier 1 and Qualifier 2, culminating in the championship game.

Bangladesh Premier League

The Bangladesh Premier League was formed in 2011 by the Bangladesh Cricket Board following the suspension of its predecessor organisation, the 2009/10 National Cricket League Twenty20. The first season was held in February 2012, and the games were held in Dhaka and Chittagong. BPL is headed by its Governing Council Chairman.

The 2020 version of the BPL was intended to be held without franchise involvement, with the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) managing the tournament. The decision came after a meeting between the BCB and the franchise owners after the BCB failed to meet the demands team owners. In October 2020, the BCB confirmed that there would be no more tournaments 2020, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Comilla Victorians are the defending champions, winning their third title to become the joint most successful team with the Dhaka franchises.

Main History

Following the success of franchise Twenty20 cricket leagues around the world such as the Indian Premier League, the Bangladesh Cricket Board announced plans to start a franchise-based league to replace the National Cricket League. On 18 January 2012, the board signed a 6-year, Rs 350 crore deal with Game On Sports Group to establish a franchise tournament.

The agreement gave the group exclusive management rights to the tournament. The league was founded with six franchises from the largest cities in Bangladesh. During the franchise auction, 13 companies participated in the bidding process, with six acquiring the rights to each club.


In July 2022, after the ICC adjusted the months of January and February for the BPL, in its ICC Future Tours programme, the BCB announced the BPL schedule for the next three seasons.

Accordingly, the ninth season was to be held from 5 January to 16 February 2023, the tenth season was to be played from 6 January to 17 February 2024 and the eleventh season was to be played from 1 January to 11 February 2025. The board also decided to sell franchise rights for the first time for a period of 3 years.

1st Edition (2012)

The first edition of the league officially started on 9 February 2012, with a grand opening ceremony at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh. The initial player auction was held on 18 and 19 January 2012 and the first match of the tournament was played on 9 February 2012 at the Sher Bangla National Cricket Stadium between Sylhet Royals and Barisal Burners.

The first final match was between Dhaka Gladiators and Barisal Burners, in which Dhaka Gladiators won by eight wickets and emerged as champions. All the matches of the first edition of the league were play at Sher Bangla National Cricket Stadium and Zahoor Ahmed Chaudhary Stadium in Chittagong, the second largest city in the country.

2nd Edition (2013)

Rangpur Riders were add as the seventh team for the second season. Dhaka Gladiators defeated Chittagong Kings by 43 runs in the final to emerge as champions again. The Sher Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka once again hosted the final. For most matches, the MA Aziz Stadium replace the Zahoor Ahmad Chaudhary Stadium in Chittagong due to its larger capacity and the Sheikh Abu Nasr Stadium in Khulna (the third largest city) was add as a third venue.

Following allegations of match-fixing during the 2012–13 season, the owners of all six original franchises were suspend in 2013 for persistent violations of league rules and delays in the transfer of player salaries. The owners of Dhaka Gladiators were suspend for life by the governing committee. Several players and organizers, including former Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful, banned for match-fixing.

3rd Edition (2015)

After the match-fixing scandal, the league was not play in 2014. It returned in 2015 with six new franchises and held in winter as opposed to spring. Comilla Victorians won the match by beating Barisal Bulls by three wickets.

Ahead of the 2016–17 edition of the League One franchise, Sylhet Superstars were suspend after violating disciplinary rules and two new franchises, Khulna Titans and Rajshahi Kings, were introduce, increasing the number of teams in the competition back seven.

4th Edition (2016)

In the 2016 edition, Dhaka Dynamites won the tournament for the third time defeating Rajshahi Kings in the final.

5th Edition (2017)

In the 2017–18 edition of the league, the Sylhet franchise returned as the Sylhet Sixers under new ownership and management. Consequently, the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium was also list as the third venue. The Barisal Bulls franchise was suspend due to financial problems.

6th Edition (2018)

2018-19 Bangladesh Premier League won by Comilla Victorians. They won their second BPL title by defeating Dhaka Dynamites. Mashrafe Murtaza became the most successful captain with 4 trophies. Bangladesh Premier League.

Special Edition (2019-2020)

In September 2019, BCB President Nazmul Hasan Papon informed the media about some changes in the rules. And regulations for the 2019–20 season and the termination of all franchises, BCB took charge. And the tournament decided to conduct it through the board and named the tournament.

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019 to pay homage to Sheikh Mujibur Rahman on his centenary. All matches were play behind closed doors due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In the final match, Rajshahi Royals defeated Khulna Tigers by 21 runs. Royals captain Andre Russell was adjudge Man of the Match. And Player of the Tournament for the finals for his all-round performance and for leading his team to their first BPL title. Bangladesh Premier League.

8th Edition (2021-2022)

The 2021–22 season, the eighth edition also named Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League T20 (BBPL T20)–2022, was initially schedule to start in March 2021. However, the tournament postponed and reschedule to be held from 21 January to 18 February 2022. In December 2021, all six teams were announce, with Rangpur Rangers. And defending champions Rajshahi Royals excluded. A franchise from Barisal added and Comilla Victorians also returning after a gap of one year. Bangladesh Premier League.

Initially, the Rupa Steel & Marin Group owned the Dhaka franchise. But their ownership was terminate a day before the players’ draft due to non-compliance with the rules. However, the Munster Group took ownership of the franchise after the players’ draft. The DRS system could not be used this season due to the non-availability of technical teams. Initially, the BCB decided to allow spectators this year. However, due to the rise in Omicron variants, the board backtracked on its decision. And decided to play behind closed doors.

Two points table topper team Fortune Barishal and Comilla Victorians reached the final. In the final, Comilla Victorians defended 151 runs to clinch their third title in a thrilling 1-run victory. Sunil Narine was adjudge Man of the Match in the final for his all-around performance. Shakib Al Hasan, captain of runners-up team Fortune Barisal, was award the player of the tournament for his all-round performance, scoring 284 runs in 11 innings and taking 16 wickets. For more details click here