The Chile national football team represents Chile in men’s international football competitions and is controlled by the Federación de Fútbol de Chile, which was founded in 1895. This team is commonly referred to as La Roja. Chile has appeared in and hosted nine World Cup tournaments. In the 1962 FIFA World Cup where they finished third, the country’s highest ever World Cup placing. Chili Football History.

YearsAll years

Chile won their first Copa America title on home soil at the 2015 Copa America, defeating Argentina in the final. They successfully defended their title in another final against Argentina, winning on penalties at the Copa America Centenario in the United States the following year. Earlier, Chile was runners-up in the competition four times. As a result of winning the 2015 Copa America, they qualified for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup, where they finished second, behind Germany, in their first appearance.

Chile National Football team

The Federacion de Futbol de Chile is the second oldest federation in South America, founded on June 19, 1895, in Valparaiso. Along with Argentina, Brazil, and Uruguay, the four participated in the first South American championship, later renamed the Copa America in 1916. On October 12, 1926, Chile scored the first corner kick goal in a match in Copa America history. Against Bolivia, Chile was one of thirteen national teams that competed in the inaugural World Cup in 1930.

The team got off to a good start, beating Mexico and France without a goal. A 3–1 loss to Argentina in the final game left the Chilean team second in the group, eliminating them from the tournament. In the 1950 World Cup, Chile defeated the United States 5–2 but was still eliminated in the first round.

Best team

Chile’s best result at the World Cup was a third place as the host nation in 1962. Chile lost 4-2 to eventual champions Brazil in the semi-finals but beat Yugoslavia 1-0 to finish third. Chilean players made two World Cup firsts: Chile’s Guillermo Sabre was the first player to miss a penalty kick at a World Cup, against France in the 1930 FIFA World Cup, and Chile’s Carlos Causley became the first. Who was sent off with a red flag? Card, during a match against West Germany in the 1974 World Cup.

On September 3, 1989, the scandal is known as “El Maracanazo” occurred. In a 1990 FIFA World Cup qualifying match at Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil led Chile 1–0 and La Roja needed to win. Chile goalkeeper Roberto Rojas collapsed on the pitch with an apparent forehead injury. A Brazilian fan named Rosnery Milo does Nescacimento had thrown fireworks from the stands and the smoke was billowing about a yard away.

After Rojas was take off the pitch, the Chilean players and coaches claimed the conditions were unsafe and refused to return, so the match was call off. However, video footage of the match showed that the fireworks did not make contact with Rojas. FIFA awarded the game to Brazil, Chile was banne from the 1994 FIFA World Cup qualifiers, and Rojas was banne for life, although pardoned in 2001.

In 2007

On 19 July 2007, the Chilean Football Federation banned six national team players for 20 international matches for “internal misconduct” during the Copa America tournament after they entered the team hotel property while intoxicated. destroyed The players who have been banned include captain Jorge Valdivia, defender Alvaro Ormeno, Rodrigo Tello, Jorge Vargas, Pablo Contreras, and striker Reinaldo Navia. Nelson Acosta’s resignation as manager came after Chile’s exit from the 2007 Copa America.

After serving 10 matches of bans, all but Amino sent letters of apology admitting their actions, and the bans were lift Chile qualified for the quarter-finals after a 3–2 win over Ecuador, and a 0–0 draw against Mexico. But two losses, one of which was a 6-1 defeat against Brazil, sealed Acosta’s fate. Former Argentina manager Marcelo Bielsa was give the task of managing the Chilean national team in preparation for the 2010 World Cup qualifiers.

In 2008

On 16 October 2008, Chile made history for the first time by beating Argentina 1–0 in a qualifying match. Marcelo Bielsa was praise by both Chile and Argentina for this achievement. The match was see as one of the reasons that led to the end of Alfeo Basile’s tenure as Argentina coach.

After finishing second in the CONMEBOL qualifiers for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa and reaching the round of 16 of the tournament, head coach Marcelo Bielsa said he would leave Chile. Jorge Segovia’s position if elected president of Chile’s football board. He followed through on this threat and resigned in February 2011, despite the annulment of the Segovia elections. Claudio Borghi became Chile’s manager in March 2011. Chili Football History.

Best Performance

After poor performances and heavy criticism, Claudio Borghi stepped down as manager of Chile in November 2012. In December 2012, a new manager, Jorge Sampaoli, was appoint. Jorge Sampaoli, a disciple of Marcelo Bielsa, broke new records for La Roja with the win. 10, 3 draws, and only 3 defeats out of 15 as head of the Chilean national team.

With Sampaoli, Chile managed to qualify for the 2014 FIFA World Cup, reaching the round of 16, where Chile lost to Brazil on penalties. Chili Football History.

In 2015 Copa America

In the 2015 Copa America, Chile won their first game against Ecuador, the score was 2–0. their second game, Chile drew against Mexico. Chile reached the knockout stage as Group A winners with 7 points and the most goals (10) of any team in the tournament. They then defeated Uruguay in the quarter-finals and Peru in the semi-finals. In the final, Chile defeated Argentina on penalties (4–1) after a 0–0 draw to win their first Copa America title.

In January 2016, just six months after winning the 2015 Copa America, Jorge Sampaoli resigned as manager of Chile. A new manager, Argentine Juan Antonio Pizzi, was appoint later that month, who then led La Roja to their second Copa América Centenario 2016 victory after defeating Argentina in the final. Chili Football History.


At the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia, for which they qualified by winning the Copa America. Chile scored in their first group stage match against Cameroon in a 2–0 win. In their second match against Germany, Chile drew after a tight contest and both teams scored 1 goal. In their final group stage game against Australia, Chile again drew. But qualifying for the knockout stages due to having more points than Australia, albeit with fewer points than Germany.

In the semi-finals, after a tense and exciting contest, Chile defeated Portugal 3-0 on penalties to come out on top. And qualify for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup Final. In their first final at a FIFA-sanctioned tournament, Chile faced Germany and lost 1–0. Chili Football History.

On 10 October 2017, Chile failed to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia. After losing 3–0 to Brazil, ending what was consider their “golden generation”. They finished as the highest-ranked team to fail to qualify in 9th place. Finishing sixth in the round-robin after losing to Peru on aggregate goal difference, equal points. For more details click here