The game of cricket has a well-known history that began in the late 16th century. Having originated in southeast England, it became an established sport in the country in the 18th century and developed globally in the 19th and 20th centuries. International matches have been played since the 19th century and formal Test cricket matches have been started since 1877. Cricket is the second most popular spectator sport in the world after association football (soccer). History of Cricket.

CountryAll Countries
YearAll Years

At the international level, cricket is governed by the [International Cricket Council (ICC)] which has over a hundred countries and territories as members although only twelve currently play Test cricket.

The rules of the game are explain in the “Laws of Cricket”. The game has different formats, from one-day cricket played in a few hours to Test matches that can last up to five days.

Early History

During the period 1877 to 1883, Test matches were organize in a slightly different manner from today’s international cricket matches. All were between Australian and English sides, the teams were rarely representative, and required long boat journeys that many cricketers were unable or unwilling to undertake. Thus, the home teams have a great advantage.

Thirteen Test matches were play between Australia and England during this period. Most were not styled as representative “England v Australia” matches, however: this description later applied by cricket statisticians. The same is true of their name “Test Matches”, which did not enter the vernacular until 1885. Of the thirteen matches played up to 1883, eleven were in Australia, where the colonists made the most of their home advantage, with England winning seven. Four wins, and two draws.

1st Tour

By 1883, the tradition of England-Australia tours was well establishe, with the first Ashes series concluding that year. When England lost at home for the first time in 1882, The Sporting Times lamented the death of cricket in the motherland and announced that “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”. England captain Ivo Bligh promised to regain the “Ashes” on the tour of Australia in 1882–83, and the term began to take root.

History of ODI Cricket

One-day international (ODI) is a form of limited-overs cricket, played between two teams with international status, in which each team faces a fixed number of overs, currently 50, in the game. Lasts up to 9 hours. The Cricket World Cup, usually held every four years, is play in this format. One-day internationals are also known as limit-overs internationals (LOI), although this general term can also refer to Twenty20 internationals. These are big matches and are consider the highest standard of List A, limited overs competition.

The international one-day game is a development of the late twentieth century. The first ODI was play on January 5, 1971, between Australia and England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. When the first three days of the third Test wasted, the officials decided to abandon the match and play a 40-eight-ball one-dayer instead. Australia won this match by 5 wickets. ODIs are played in white kits with a red ball.

ODI Cricket World Series

In the late 1970s, Kerry Packer established the rival World Series cricket competition, and he introduced many of the features of one-day international cricket that are now common, including colored uniforms, white balls, and night under floodlights. during matches and dark screens, and, for television broadcasts, multiple camera angles, effects microphones to capture the voices of players on the pitch, and on-screen graphics.

The first match with colored uniforms was WSC Australians in Wattle Gold vs WSC West Indians in Coral Pink, played on 17 January 1979 at Melbourne’s VFL Park. Rather, because of this, players around the world are paid to play and become international professionals, no longer needing jobs outside of cricket. Matches played with colored kits and white balls became more common over time, and the use of white flannel and red balls in ODIs ended in 2001.

The ICC, the governing body of international cricket, maintains the ICC ODI rankings for teams, batsmen, bowlers, and all-rounders. Currently, New Zealand is at the top of the ODI rankings.

History of T20 Cricket

Twenty20 (T20) is a short game format of cricket. At the professional level, it was introduce by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in 2003 for inter-county competition. In a Twenty20 game, both teams have one inning each, limited to a maximum of 20 overs. Along with First Class and List A cricket, Twenty20 is one of three current forms of cricket recognize by the International Cricket Council (ICC) at the highest international or domestic level.

A typical Twenty20 game takes about two-and-a-half hours, with each innings lasting about 70 minutes, with a 10-minute break between innings. It is much shorter than previous forms of the game and is closer to the times of other popular team sports. It was introduce to create a fast-paced game that would be attractive to spectators on the ground and those watching on television.

This game has managed to spread in the world of cricket. Most international tours have at least one Twenty20 match and all Test-playing nations have a domestic cup competition.

T20 League

Following the popularity of the 2007 ICC World T20, several T20 leagues were launche. The Board of Control for Cricket in India launched the Indian Premier League in 2008. Now the largest cricket league, using the North American sports franchise system with ten teams in major Indian cities.

In September 2017, the broadcast and digital rights of the IPL for the next five years (2018–2022) sold to Star India for US$2.55 billion, making it one of the world’s most profitable sports leagues per match. According to global valuation and corporate finance advisor Duff & Phelps, the IPL has seen its brand value increase to US$5.3 billion after the 10th edition.

The Big Bash League, Bangladesh Premier League, Pakistan Super League, Caribbean Premier League. And Afghanistan Premier League followed a similar formula and remained popular with fans. The Women’s Big Bash League was launche by Cricket Australia in 2015. While the Kia Super League was launche in England and Wales in 2016. The Mzansi Super League in South Africa was launche in 2018. History of Cricket.

ICC T20 World Cup

An ICC World Twenty20 tournament is to be held every two years unless the ICC Cricket World Cup is scheduled. In the same year, in which case it will be held a year earlier. The first tournament held in South Africa in 2007 in which India defeated Pakistan in the final. The two Associate teams previously played in the tournament. Which selected by the 2007 ICC World Cricket League Division One, was a 50-over competition. In December 2007, it decided to organize a qualifying tournament with a 20-over format for better preparation of the teams. With six participants, two will qualify for the 2009 World T20 and each will receive $250,000 in prize money. History of Cricket.

The second tournament won by Pakistan who defeated Sri Lanka by eight wickets in England on 21 June 2009. The 2010 ICC World T20 tournament held in West Indies in May 2010 where England defeated Australia by seven wickets. The 2012 ICC World T20 won by West Indies defeating Sri Lanka in the final. It was the first time in the history of cricket that the T20 World Cup tournament held in an Asian country. History of Cricket.

The 2014 ICC World T20 won by Sri Lanka by defeating India in the final. Where the tournament held in Bangladesh. The 2016 ICC World T20 won by the West Indies. In July 2020, the ICC announced that both the 2020 and 2021 editions had been postpone by a year due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The 2021 ICC T20 World Cup won by Australia in UAE. For more details click here