Association football, commonly referred to as soccer or soccer, has no classical history. Despite similarities to other ball games played around the world, FIFA has recognized that there is no historical connection to any game played outside of Europe in ancient times. The modern rules of association football are based on attempts to standardize the widely varying forms of football played in public schools in Britain in the mid-19th century. History of Football.

CountryAll Countries
YearAll Years

The development of modern-day association football has its origins in medieval ball games and English public school games. The modern game of association football began in the mid-nineteenth century with efforts to standardize various rules among local football clubs, culminating in the formation of the Football Association in London, England in 1863.

After the fifth session of the association, a disagreement arose between the rules of association football and the rules played by rugby schools, later known as rugby football. Football has been an Olympic sport since the second modern Summer Olympic Games in 1900.

1st FA Cup

In 1872 the first FA Cup in the Wanderers and the Royal Engineers faced off in the final in front of 2,000 paying spectators. Despite the Royal Engineers being heavy favorites, one of their players suffered a collarbone early on, and substitutes had not yet been introduced. were, so the Engineers went a man down for the remainder of the match which they eventually lost 1–0.

The FA Cup was a success and within a few years, all clubs in England wanted to participate. To do this they had to accept the FA Code, which led to the rapid proliferation of a universal set of rules. These principles are the basis on which all association football rules are based today.

1st International Game

The first international game was played in Scotland on 30 November 1872. Charles Alcock, who had been elected secretary of the FA at the age of 28, came up with the idea of ​​an international competition, which inaugurated the annual Scotland-England match. In 1870 and 1871 he placed advertisements in Edinburgh and Glasgow newspapers, requesting players for an international match between the two countries.

As early as the 1870s, Alcock was adamant that the matches were open to every Scotsman whether his lines were drawn north or south of the Tweed and that if publicized through the columns of Scotland’s leading journals In view of the invitations given, the delegation consists of eleven. Mainly Anglo-Scots. The blame lies with the North players, not with the management who impartially hired everyone. The team has no part in calling the London Scotchman. The match, as announced, was to all intents and purposes between England and Scotland.”

In 1872

In 1872 the challenge was finally taken up by Queens Park FC. The first international match currently recognized as official by FIFA ended in a goalless draw between the two sides and thus, one of the most bitterly contested fixtures in football history was born. The second game between the two sides ended 4–2 in England’s favor on 8 March 1873, with the Scots winning the next game 2–1. The fourth game ended in a 2–2 draw, after which the Scots went on a 3-game winning streak.

The first non-European international was play on November 28, 1885. New Jersey, between the United States and Canada, with the Canadians winning 1–0.

Men’s FIFA World Cup

The first football world cup was play in 1930 in Uruguay. In the first championship match between Argentina and Uruguay. The teams could not decide on a ball, so they used Argentina’s ball in the first half. And Uruguay’s ball in the second half. Many countries did not enter, but most of them came from the United States. However, by the 1950s, European teams took an interest. And the competition became one of the world’s biggest football and sports competitions.

The South American Copa America was first contested in 1916 and preceded the World Cup. Decades later, other continental championships emerged – the AFC Asian Cup (1956), African Cup of Nations (1957), European Championship (1960), North America’s Gold Cup (1991), and Oceania’s OFC Nations Cup (1996). and the UEFA Nations League. (2018).

The Brazilian team is the most successful team in the World Cup having won five times. The next most successful teams are Italy and Germany (three West Germans) with four titles each, having won their most recent titles in 2006 and 2014 respectively. Uruguay (last in 1950), Argentina (last in 1986), and France (last in 2018) have two titles each.

Women’s FIFA World Cup

The FIFA Women’s World Cup was inaugurate with the 1991 FIFA Women’s World Cup, hosted in China, with 12 teams sent to represent their countries.

The 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup was attend by over 90,185 fans. And watched by approximately 1 billion viewers from 70 countries. As of the 2003 FIFA Women’s World Cup, 16 teams have competed in the finals of the championship. Of the eight tournaments held to date (as of 2019). The United States is the most successful team with four titles (1991, 1999, 2015, 2019). History of Football.

Germany (2003, 2007) won the championship twice, and Norway (1995) and Japan (2011) won once each. The women’s confederations are similar to the men’s: Oceania (OFC), European (UEFA), North, Central America. And the Caribbean (CONCACAF), South American (CONMEBOL), Asian (AFC), and African (CAF). For more details click here