The Indian men’s national field hockey team represents India in international field hockey competitions and is administered by Hockey India. The team was previously under the control of the Indian Hockey Federation. India was the first non-European team to become part of the International Hockey Federation. In 1928, the team won its first Olympic gold medal and until 1960, the Indian men’s team went undefeated at the Olympics, winning six gold medals in a row. India Hockey History.

YearAll Years

The team went 30-0 from its first game in 1928 until the 1960 gold medal final in which it lost. India also won the World Cup in 1975. India’s hockey team is the most successful team ever at the Olympics, having won a total of eight gold medals – in 1928, 1932, 1936, 1948, 1952, 1956, 1964, and 1980. India also has the best overall performance in Olympic history with 83 victories out of 134 matches played. They have scored more goals than any other team in the Olympics. They are the only team to win the Olympics without conceding a single goal in 1928 and 1956.

Most Successful Team

The men in blues are also one of the most successful teams in Asia. He has won the Asian Games three times – in 1966, 1998, and 2014. India topped the Asia Cup in 2003, 2007, and 2017. India has won 43 out of 56 matches in the Asia Cup and holds the record for most wins and best winning percentage in the competition. They are also the most successful team in the Asian Champions Trophy, having won the competition three times – in 2011, 2016, and 2018. In total, India has won 27 official international titles.

India is known for its fierce rivalry with Pakistan, with whom they have played in the finals of major tournaments such as the Olympics, World Cup, Asian Games, and Asia Cup. India also has a unique record of defeating Pakistan in the finals of all these tournaments.

1960 Olympics

In the 1960 Olympics, India opened their campaign with wins against Denmark 10–0, Netherlands 4–1, and New Zealand 3–0. India defeated Australia and Great Britain in the quarter-finals and semi-finals respectively. It was the beginning of a new era in the final, the first time India had to lose a match at the Olympics, losing 0-1 to Pakistan in the final, ending India’s streak of 6 consecutive gold medals and 30 matches unbeaten. went. Two years later, India won another silver medal at the 1962 Asian Games.

India made a strong comeback in the 1964 Olympics, registering wins against Hong Kong, Belgium, the Netherlands, Malaysia, and Canada, and draws with Spain and Germany. India defeated Australia 3–1 in the semi-finals, and went on to win the final against Pakistan to win their 7th gold medal of the Games and beat Pakistan again in the 1966 Asian Games to win the gold medal.

1968 Olympics

In the 1968 Olympics India started with a loss against New Zealand but won all of their remaining 6 matches against West Germany, Japan, Spain, Mexico, East Germany, and Belgium but India went to a new low, for the first time as they were defeated in the semi-final by Australia and went on to play bronze medal match at the games but they successfully claimed the bronze medal by beating  West Germany.

1972 Olympics

In the 1972 Olympics also the result was same India started brightly by defeating Great Britain, Australia, Kenya, New Zealand, and Mexico but drew with Netherlands and Poland. They were defeated in the semi-finals by Pakistan. In the Third-place match India defeated the Netherlands to claim the bronze medal.

World Cup

India won a bronze medal at the 1971 World Cup by virtue of a win over Kenya. In the 1973 World Cup India defeated Pakistan in the semi-finals but lost to the Netherlands in the final in a penalty shoot-out after the match ended in a 2–2 draw. But in the 1975 World Cup India defeated Malaysia in the semi-final before beating arch-rivals Pakistan to claim their first title. In the 1975 Olympics.

1980 Olympics

The 1980 Olympics was held in Moscow, India started their campaign with an 18–0 win over Tanzania followed by a 2–2 draw with Poland and Spain and resounding win over Cuba by a margin of 13–0, and another win over the Soviet Union by a scoreline of 4–2. India later won the gold medal for the record 8th time by defeating Spain in the final by a score of 4–3.

After a disappointing Olympics, India played in the 2013 Asian Champions Trophy but could only finish 5th. The 2014 Asian Games became a turning point as the team defeated Pakistan to win their third gold medal. In the 2014-15 Hockey World League, India won the bronze medal by defeating the Netherlands. The team reached the final of the 2016 Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy but lost to Australia in a penalty shootout. India Hockey History.

2018 Asian Games

The 2018 Asian Games turned out to be a bit of a disappointment. As India was the defending champions as well as a favorite to win. But was stunned by Malaysia in the semi-finals. They later defeated Pakistan 2-1 to win the bronze medal. The team made a strong comeback by winning the 2018 Asian Champions Trophy. And the gold medal in the 2018–19 Men’s Hockey Series. India played as hosts in the 2018 Hockey World Cup and reached the quarterfinals but lost to the Netherlands. India Hockey History.

The Indian team defeated Germany 5-4 to win the bronze medal at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. It was a historic win as the Indian hockey team won a medal at the Olympics after a gap of 41 years. For more details click here