The Indian Premier League (IPL), also officially known as the TATA IPL for sponsorship reasons, is a professional men’s Twenty20 cricket league, contested by ten teams from seven Indian cities and three Indian states. has done The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. It is usually held between March and May every year and has a special window in the ICC Future Tours program. IPL History.

YearAll Years

The IPL is the world’s most attended cricket league and in 2014 had the sixth highest average attendance among all sports leagues. In 2010, the IPL became the world’s first sporting event to be broadcast live on YouTube. According to Duff & Phelps, the IPL had a brand value of ₹47,500 crores (US$5.9 billion) in 2019. According to the BCCI, the 2015 IPL season contributed ₹1,150 crores (US$140 million) to the GDP of the Indian economy. The 2020 IPL season set a major viewership record with 31.57 million average impressions and an overall increase of 23% from the 2019 season.

There have been fifteen seasons of the IPL tournament. The current IPL title holder franchise is Gujarat Titans, who are winning the 2022 season.

Main History

The Indian Cricket League (ICL) was found in 2007, with funding provided by Zee Entertainment Enterprises. The ICL was not recognize by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) or the International Cricket Council (ICC) and the BCCI prevented its committee members from joining the ICL Executive Board. To prevent players from joining the ICL, the BCCI increased the prize money in its own domestic tournaments and also imposed a lifetime ban on players joining the ICL, which the board considered a rebel league.


On 13 September 2007, following India’s victory in the 2007 T20 World Cup, the BCCI announced a franchise-based Twenty20 cricket competition called the Indian Premier League. The first season was schedule to launch in April 2008 at a “high-profile event” in New Delhi. BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi, who spearheaded the IPL effort, outlined the details of the tournament, including its format, prize money, franchise revenue system, and squad formation rules.

It was also revealed that the IPL will be run by a seven-member governing council consisting of former India players and BCCI officials and that the top two teams in the IPL will qualify for this year’s Champions League Twenty20. Modi also clarified that he had been working on the idea for two years and that the IPL was not launch as a “knee-jerk reaction” to the ICL. The format of the league was similar to the Premier League in England and the NBA in the United States.

IPL Teams

To decide the owners of the new league, an auction was held on January 24, 2008, with franchises having a total base value of approximately $400 million. At the end of the auction, the winning bidders were announce, along with the cities where the teams would be based: Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Mohali, and Mumbai. In the end, franchises were sold for a total of $723.59 million. The Indian Cricket League soon folded in 2008. IPL History.

Tournament Format

Currently, with ten teams, the round-robin format was scrap. And two virtual groups of five were introduce in the league stage in the 2011 season. After the league stage, the top four teams will qualify for the playoffs. The top two teams from the league stage will play each other in the first qualifying match. With the winner going straight to the IPL final. And the loser has another chance to qualify for the IPL final by playing the second qualifying match.

Meanwhile, the third and fourth-placed teams in the league stage will play an eliminator match against each other. And the winner of that match will play the loser of the first qualifying match. The winner of the second qualifying match will advance to the final to play the winner of the first qualifying match in the IPL final match. Where the winner will be crown the Indian Premier League champion. IPL History.

Match Rules

IPL games use televised time-outs and hence there is no time limit in which teams have to complete their innings. However, if umpires find teams abusing this privilege, fines may be impose. Each team is give a “strategic time-out” of two and a half minutes during each inning. One must be take by the bowling team between the end of the 6th and 9th overs. And one by the batting team between the end of the 13th and 16th overs.

From the 2018 season, the Umpire Decision Review System is being use in all IPL matches. Giving each team one chance to review the on-field umpire’s decision per innings. IPL History.

Prize Money

The 2019 season of the IPL offered total prize money of ₹50 crores (equivalent to ₹53 crores or US$6.6 million in 2020). With the winning team receiving ₹20 crores (equivalent to ₹21 crores or US$2.6 million in 2020). ). The first and second runners-up received ₹12.5 crores (US$1.6 million). And ₹8.75 crores (US$1.1 million) respectively, with the fourth-placed team, also winning ₹8.75 crores (US$1.1 million). No prize money was give to the other teams. According to IPL rules, half of the prize money should be distribute among the players. For more details click here