The Mexican national football team is the Mexican National Association football team and is governed by the Mexican Football Federation. It competes as a member of CONCACAF. Mexico Football History.

Mexico has qualified for 17 World Cups and has qualified continuously since 1994, making it one of the six countries to do so. Along with Mexico’s national team, Brazil is the two countries that have been knocked out of the group stage in the last seven World Cups. Mexico faced France in the first match of the first World Cup on July 13, 1930. Mexico’s best progress in the World Cup has been reaching the quarter-finals in both the 1970 and 1986 World Cups, both played on Mexican soil.

Mexico’s most successful team

Mexico is historically the most successful national team in the CONCACAF region, winning eight CONCACAF Gold Cups and three CONCACAF Championships, as well as eleven Confederations titles, including two NAFC Championships, one North American Nation Cup, one CONCACAF Cup, and two Gold Medals.

Live Central American and Caribbean Games It is one of eight countries that has won the 1999 FIFA Confederations Cup and the 2012 Summer Olympics, two of the three most important football tournaments. Although Mexico is under the jurisdiction of CONCACAF, the national team was regularly invited to compete in the Copa America from 1993 to 2016, winning runners-up twice – in 1993 and 2001 – and finishing third on three occasions.


In 1927, the official governing body of football was established in Mexico. Mexico took part in the first match of the World Cup, losing 4-1 to France, and Mexico’s first World Cup goal was scored by Juan Carrio. In their second match, Mexico lost 3-0 to Chile. Mexico’s third match, against Argentina, was the first penalty of the tournament, scored by Mexico’s Manuel Rosas.

Mexico in Fifa World Cup

Mexico was placed in Group G with Italy, Croatia, and Ecuador in the 2002 World Cup. And Mexico started with a 1-0 victory over Croatia. In the second match, Mexico beat Ecuador 2-1. Mexico then drew 1-1 with Italy. In the Round of 16, Mexico defeated rivals the United States, losing 2-0.
Mexico was one of the eight-seeded teams in the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany. Mexico won its first match 3-1 against Iran. In their second match, Mexico drew 0-0 against Angola. Despite losing 2-1 to Portugal, Mexico reached the round of 16. Mexico lost another round of 16, this time 2-1 to Argentina. Mexico coach Ricardo Lovelp resigned after the tournament and was replace by Hugo Sanchez.


After losing the final match of the 2007 Konkak Gold Cup 1-2 to the United States, Mexico successfully returned to the 2007 Copa America. Starting with a 2-0 win over Brazil, they then beat Ecuador and tied with Chile to advance to Group B. In the quarterfinals, Mexico beat Paraguay 6-0 but lost 3-0 to Argentina in the semifinals. Mexico finished third with a 3-1 win over Uruguay.

In July 2009, Mexico won its fifth Gold Cup, and the eighth CONCACAF Championship overall, after defeating the United States 5-0 in the final.

Mexico in Fifa World Cup 2010

Mexico qualified for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, where they joined Group A with hosts South Africa, France, and Uruguay. They drew 1-1 against South Africa, beat France 2-0, lost 1-0 to Uruguay, and reached the Round of 16, where they lost 1-3 to Argentina. Later they went out.

2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup

At the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup, Mexico won their group with three wins and no losses. However, during the tournament, five players tested positive for the illicit substance Clean Battle and were suspend from the competition. Mexico beat Guatemala 2-1 and Honduras 2-0 in the quarterfinals. For the third year in a row, the final will be played between Mexico and the United States. Mexico won the match 4-2 and qualified for the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup in Brazil. Where they were eliminate from the group stage. Mexico Football History.

Mexico finished second in their group at the 2013 Konkak Gold Cup, reaching the semi-finals and competing against Panama. Then Mexico lost the match 2-1, their second defeat to Panama in the group stage. Panama’s two defeats were the first two when Panama beat Mexico in a Gold Cup match.

2014 World Cup

Mexico won just two of ten matches in the fourth round of the 2014 World Cup qualifiers. But qualified for an intercontinental playoff. As the fourth-ranked team in the CONCACAF region. They defeated New Zealand 9-3 on aggregate to qualify for the sixth consecutive World Cup. The team reached the Round of 16 where it lost 2-1 to the Netherlands.

2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup

In the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup, Mexico was include in Group C along with Trinidad and Tobago, Cuba, and Guatemala. The team finished second in the group, winning both the quarter-final match against Costa Rica. And the semi-final against Panama in controversial situations. Mexico beat Jamaica 3-1 in the final to win the Gold Cup.

Two days after the final, Miguel Herrera was release as national team coach after an alleged physical altercation with TV Azteca announcer Christian Martinoli. On October 10, Mexico defeated the United States 3-2 to win the opening edition of the CONCACAF Cup. Qualifying for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia. The following month, Juan Carlos Osorio was name Mexico’s 16th manager, replacing interim manager Ricardo Ferretti.

2017 Confederations Cup

In the 2017 Confederations Cup, Mexico was draw in Group A with Portugal, New Zealand, and host Russia. El Tri went ahead as the group’s runner-up, losing 4-1 to Germany in the semi-finals. Mexico Football History.

2018 Fifa World Cup

In their opening match of the 2018 FIFA World Cup, Mexico defeated defending champions Germany, thanks to a single goal from Herung Luzano, for the first time in a World Cup match. They will beat South Korea 2-1 in the next game with goals from Carlos Vela and Javier Hernandez but will fall 3-0 to Sweden in the final match of the group stage. Despite the defeat, Mexico qualified for the Round of 16 for the seventh consecutive tournament.

In the round of 16, Mexico lost 0-2 to Brazil. The defeat meant that for the seventh consecutive tournament. Mexico failed to reach the quarterfinals since it last hosted the World Cup in 1986. On July 28, Juan Carlos Osorio resigned as head coach at the end of his contract. Mexico Football History.

New Head Coach

In January 2019, Gerardo Martino was appoint the new head coach of Mexico. Becoming the third Argentine to coach the national team. In this year’s Gold Cup tournament, they won all three group stage matches, beat Costa Rica 5-4 on penalties after a 1-1 draw in the quarterfinals, and won the semi-final against Haiti. Mexico beat the United States 1-0 in the final to win the Gold Cup. For more details click here